Gamblers, Family and Friends in Recovery

International Unity In Action
An international shared recovery. Hundreds of Zoom meetings are being held each week all over the world. Recovery is everywhere!

THE GA AUSTRALIA 2020 ZOOM CONVENTION (with GAM-ANON)

HAPPENING THIS WEEKEND - ANOTHER 14H CONVENTION!

SUNDAY 25 OCTOBER, 2020

Sydney: 8AM (AEDT)
Brisbane: 7AM (AEST)
Adelaide: 7.30AM (ACDT)
Perth: 5AM (AWST)

Auckland: 10AM (NZDST)

SATURDAY 24 OCTOBER, 2020

South Africa: 11PM (SAST)
UK/Ireland: 10PM (BST)*
USA (Eastern): 5PM (EDT)
USA (Pacific): 2PM (PDT)

* clocks change to GMT 2AM Sunday

Every day our ZOOM meetings are being held all around the world. There’s sure to be one starting soon…

On 27 June 2020 we proudly held
The International Unity Convention for Compulsive Gamblers and their Families and Friends
A Worldwide ZOOM Convention
14 Hours – 5 Continents – Over 100 Workshops
IT WAS AMAZING – OUR UNITY IS AMAZING 

N G T R

No Gambling To Report

Take 3! Audio shares to help your recovery…

I wish I was different
I wish I was different
My brain is wired wrong
Wired for compulsion, obsession, fanaticism
I fall hard for cards
Fascinated, infatuated, consumed
A smitten kitten of desire for nothing but the numbing agent that is gambling
Devoted to it, gripped by it, spellbound by this mistress
Hypnotized by her void into the unknown
The highs and lows, riveted, mesmerized, she ties me up in knots
I am her captive, her slave, her imprisoned soul
Devoted to avoiding a life that is no longer whole
Letting her have the reins, I am no longer in control

I numbly submit and observe
Looking for that next hit, that next high it’s absurd
Betting bigger and bigger
It’s never enough
An Empty, shallow, meaningless bluff
Always left wanting, desiring, craving
Am I not worthy of saving?
She’s a hungry ghost that never seems to rest
She occupies, devours, consumes until there is nothing left
But hopelessness, crisis, shame and regret.

Patricia M,
September 12, 2020.

Cured?

Am I cured of gambling?
Recovered but not cured.
That presents a conflict to me.

If I was cured,
I would be able to gamble responsibly.
No, I am not cured.

The allergic reaction to gambling,
Will remain with me for a lifetime. 
But I have been restored to sanity.

That was the problem.
The main problem of the gambling remains,
in my mind, rather than in the body.

I am now sane where gambling is concerned.
Consequently, I have recovered.

Thomas M.
Scotland

Our Mission

Gamblers, Family and Friends In Recovery (GFFR) was born out of the need to support compulsive gamblers, and families and friends affected by someone’s gambling, who are no longer able to attend face-to-face meetings during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Our current mission is to provide a resource in finding online meetings efficiently. Additionally, since many of the traditional conventions that recovering gamblers attend have been cancelled for the immediate future, our group decided that an online convention with speakers, workshops and virtual meetings could be an exciting new vehicle for compulsive gamblers to get support and connect worldwide.

On 27 June 2020 we held our first international online convention with much positive acclamation received from participants.

We also host an archive so that this can be a resource for audio recordings of speakers and workshops;  primarily those from the June 2020 convention.

We have no interest in replacing or being in conflict with any of the great organisations that currently support compulsive gamblers and their families and friends. Our goal is to support the great work that worldwide programs already achieve.

Relationships in Recovery – Mary & Stacy – Listen to the Recording and View The Slides

Previous
Next
Individual Visitors: 63238 | Page views: 240434